Sweet Treats Sunday: Earl Grey & Rose Sugar Scrub

Rose Sugar Scrub edit

Wondering what to do with your dried roses once Valentine’s Day has been and gone? Try making this earl grey & rose sugar scrub!

Author’s Note

Lately, I’ve been weaning myself from over-the-counter bath products and replacing them with more wholesome items. A simple ingredient list is key, and whenever I can create something with what I have, where I am (read: at home), I jump at the opportunity.

Coconut oil is a bath time staple. It’s silky, absorbs nicely, has a luscious scent, and I just love the warming effect it has after application. You can use any oil you have on hand, even olive oil. I’m a massive coffee drinker, but if I were to drink tea I’d pick earl grey 99.9% of the time. I chose to use an earl grey tea bag (double bergamot earl grey) for this scrub because I had it in my pantry, and bergamot essential oil is still on my wish list.

What makes this recipe so much fun — besides the treats! — is how open ended it is: the choice is yours when it comes to any of the ingredients listed below. I love the citrusy bursts of yellow I get from the roses, mixed with the dark flecks of earl grey; it makes for a substantial scrub indeed. And now more than ever I’m motivated to get that bergamot oil.


Treats

  • 2 c white granulated sugar
  • 1 earl grey tea bag
  • 2/3 c coconut oil (‘unrefined’ if you want the coconut scent, ‘refined’ if you don’t)
  • petals from 3 or 4 roses, dried
  • a few drops of lavender oil (or any essential oil of your choosing; optional)

Create

  1. In a food processor, pulse rose petals until they become flakes. Set aside.
  2. Cut open tea bag and empty contents into a large bowl. Combine thoroughly with sugar.
  3. Add coconut oil, combine with hands until mixture is crumbly.
  4. Fold in rose petals to the sugar mixture.
  5. Add a few drops of lavender oil, mix thoroughly.

Makes

you feel loved and pampered 🙂

Rose Sugar Scrub cup edit

Leave a Reply

